Where's Margie's Money?



Friday Most and Least

I am so ready for the weekend! This afternoon I’ll be leaving work a little early as my little ladybug has her 6-month “wellness” check-up at 3 p.m. Technically she’ll be 7 months on Sunday (my goodness!!!!) but two weeks ago when she was due for her vaccinations she was fighting a cold so I decided to wait on the shots. I’m so curious to know how long she is these days!  My guess will be 17 lbs and 29 inches (she’s takes after her mama when it comes to height . . . I’m 6 foot!).

TeacHer Finance has started doing a fun survey called “Thursday Most and Least.”  I figured I’d try it out this week and see about making it a regular thing I do on Fridays! Here we go:

Friday March. 2 – Thursday, March 8
Most Expensive Purchase: $505 for an iPad for my husband’s 40th birthday. My dad is retired military so he was able to buy it for me last month on base which meant no taxes!  He also bought a screen protector. I gave Dad a check three weeks ago to cover the price but he forgot to cash it (ugh, Dad!!) until I reminded him at the beginning of the month. Before anyone gives me a hard time about purchasing such an expensive gift, I’d just like to toot my own horn by saying that I planned and saved a little each month since last September to be able to buy this for him and it was so worth it – he loves it!  
Least Expensive Purchase: $2.45 for an iced coffee for the husband and I to share last Saturday whilst shopping in Target.
Most Exciting Purchase: My “Mom’s Day Out” spa indulgence, $149.50 (including tip)
Least Exciting Purchase: a trip to the grocery store, $93.57
Most Fun Purchase: $13 on lettuce, carrots, tangerines and a bouquet of flowers at the Farmer’s Market – I love using my lunch break on Wednesdays to walk to the market!  Especially when the weather is beautiful!  The carrots will be pureed into baby food, the tangerines are snacks for work, and the lettuce is for dinner tonight (falafal in pita!).
Least Fun Purchase: $3.23 at McDonald’s – I hate eating there but I was desperate for food and would have eaten anything at that point.
 
My weekend goals:
 
  • Clean kitchen and mop floors
  • Dust living room
  • Rearrange our bedroom to accommodate the little one’s crib mattress on the floor (long story but basically she has been co-sleeping with us since birth and I’d like to transition her into her own bed but she won’t allow me to put her down in her crib in her own room. So we’re going to start with the crib mattress on the floor by my side of the bed as baby step #1 to getting a little independence at bedtime. . . I hope it works, I love sleeping with her but she’s starting to hog the bed and I need sleep!!)
  • Vacuum car and wipe down dashboard (I’ll be driving my boss on Thursday)
  • Make baby food (carrots and peas!)
  • Meal Plan and Prep two meals for the week
  • Grocery Shop
  • Enjoy time with friends and the husband
  • Get a little rest and relaxation in!

Happy weekend!!

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Serendipity says:

    Sounds like it’s going to be a busy but productive weekend! Hope your hubby enjoys his iPad, I know I would! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * moralia says:

    Hubby & I both have iPads as well… we both love them! What a fabulous gift for hubby! And even better that you saved up for it!! Makes you extra proud to present that gift doesn’t it!? 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • Totally!! The gift was WAY sweeter knowing that I didn’t use credit and that I planned it so far in advance. It was really difficult not to give it to him the moment I had it wrapped. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

