Where's Margie's Money?



Frugal mom tip #1: Make your own baby food

Around the time my little darling turned 6 months old she started becoming extremely interested in the food on my plate. So, I decided it was time to start introducing solids. I knew that I really wanted to make my own food, but as a busy mom who works full-time outside of the home, I didn’t want to spend copious amounts of time in the kitchen. Luckily, I decided it was at least worth a try and I’m so glad I did!  As it turns out making baby food is super easy and amazingly inexpensive!

I bought these trays that basically look like ice cube trays with a sliding lid:

OXO Tot Baby Food Freezer Tray, White/Green

$4.99

Then I bought a butter nut squash and a bunch of carrots (the carrots only cost $1 at my farmer’s market!).  I peeled and diced the veggies and put them on the stove to steam. 

Image

Then, I pureed the veggies in my food processor:

 

 And the last step was putting the puree into the trays!

Image

 So easy! I got 24 “cubes” of squash and 8 “cubes” of carrots. Each cube is 1 oz and right now she is eating about 2 oz of veggies at dinner. I estimate that I spent $4 total on the produce which equates to only 25 cents a meal! Jars of organic baby food are priced at 70 cents at my local grocery store. The savings is in the pennies but it all adds up! Plus I have the piece of mind of knowing that my little one’s food is fresh and locally grown without any additives or perservatives.

She loves squash and carrots!

If you are a mom, do you make your own baby food? What was your baby’s favorite fruit or vegetable?

Leave a Reply

