Where's Margie's Money?



Mom’s Day Off

My+mom+-+001_large

(photo credit)

I’ve made myself a promise that I will take the first Friday of every other month off to have a “Mom’s Day Off.”  This is what I like to call a “mental health day” – a day when the hub’s is at work, the pumpkin is at daycare, and I get to do as I please!

Knowing that this day was on the horizon has helped me through many difficult nights and the last few challenging weeks.  I’m finding that with my responsibilities at my full-time job, my responsibilities at home, and my responsibilities to my little one, there just isn’t much left at the end of the day for me.  I’m okay with that because these are the choices I’ve made and I feel that my life is very blessed.  Yet, at the same time, I think it’s important to take care of me once in awhile.  In fact, I think all mom’s – whether they work in the home or at the office – need a day off once in awhile!  When I take care of my needs, I’m better able to take care of the other two important people in my life. 🙂

With my 8 hours of freedom I plan to:

  • Go to the hair salon
  • Drop off/pick up dry cleaning
  • Go to Michael’s for supplies for the hydrangea wreath (there is a 50 percent off sale going on now for fake flowers).
  • Drop off a few items at Good Will
  • Get a massage – my neck and shoulders are KILLING me
  • Go to the grocery store
  • Go to the chiropractor (if they have an appointment available)
  • Do a load of laundry

If you are a mom, do you ever take a day off?  If so, what do you enjoy doing with your free time?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Serendipity says:

    I so love this idea! DOn’t even feel bad if you do this once a month! You have to be in a good place to ensue you can take care of everyone else. Hope you have a fun yet productive day.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Carla says:

    A day off sounds awesome! I never get a “day off”, but when I have free time just for me I like to sew & read… 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Kez says:

    Haha I love the picture at the top of your post 🙂
    I think it’s a great idea to have a little me-time. I am a firm believer in it. I know that when I get a little time to recharge, I go to my bub (4 months old tomorrow – oh gosh) with so much more energy and enthusiasm – he is rewarded by my taking a small break!
    My husband has a roster that allows him to be home more (his “full time” work week is squished into 4 days of the week), so when he has his rostered days off, I get a half day here or there. We both win because my hubby gets to re-connect one on one with our Little Mister while I’m gone (he doesn’t see him awake while he is working).
    I think it’s so important. A lot of mums feel too guilty to do it or they don’t like leaving their babies with other people (even their husbands), but I don’t feel bad at all (which makes me occasionally wonder if I should feel bad for not feeling bad but then I snap out of it haha).
    Tonight my husband is bringing home takeout. That means I get 45 minutes after bub’s gone to sleep to paint my nails – I can’t wait!
    🙂
    It’s just about time management really. I find that in my time “off”, I don’t just take it for granted – I get stuff done that I’ve wanted to do for myself all week! I suppose I should nap more or be lazy or something but it’s impossible so I’ll go with taking a drive to the shops by myself or do a bunch of housework that’s bugging me (it actually feels like a treat these days because I love getting my home back in order after days of baby chaos)! x

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  4. I love days when the husband is at work and I am off work and so i get to do whatever i want. It’s just freedoommm.

    i mean i love spending time with him but i also love to spend time with myself.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

