Where's Margie's Money?



2012, you are kind of sucking

It’s only Feb. 17 and I’m already ready to write this year off.  2012 – you aren’t doing us any favors!  First, my DH tore his Achille’s Heel tendon while rounding 2nd base during his team’s league championship game (their team won but unfortunately all the hubby got was a trip to urgent care).  He’s FINALLY in a walking boot but still uses crutches and truly isn’t able-bodied enough to help tote heavy objects around (including our 16 lb munchkin).

But finally, on Monday, he went back to work after being off just over a month.  He’s sitting at a desk doing paperwork which isn’t fun but it’s better than sitting on the sofa having staring contests with the cat.

Bear always wins staring contests.

 Anyway, Wednesday on his commute into work he got into a car accident.  He is FINE and so is the Cadillac Escalade that he hit (barely a scratch, DH said!) but our beloved Bubbles 2 got the short end of the stick:

Near the scene of the crash: the bumper got crushed and there was some liquid dripping out. :(Thank goodness for insurance! I asked DH what happened because this is SO unlike him - in the 14 years that I've known him, he's been "I'm Mr. Perfect Driving Record LaLaLa" (annoying). He said it happened in slow motion: he tried to brake but the road was slippery from rain - the car slid and he just had this awful "knowingness" of what was about to happen. Bubbles 2 getting towed away. This photo makes me sad.

 So, the $500 copayment has been made, Bubbles 2 is in the shop and DH is now driving a rental Mustang which is pretty hilarious because he’s really not a Mustang kind of guy – but it’s better than nothing!  And we can all count our blessings that it wasn’t worse.

In other Friday news:

  • I’m resisting my urge to splurge on Jimmy Choo perfume. (It smells fanFREAKINGtastic).  Don’t worry, I won’t do it.  But the thought did cross my mind!
  • My little one has become a butt scooter!  Last night she started bouncing up and down on her bottom while doing this sort of scissor kick move with her legs outstretched in front of her in order to propel herself forward toward a favorite toy.  It’s pretty freaking cute. 
  • AND! She slept until 1:30 a.m. in her own crib.  This is major.
  • Also, new research that shows high levels of arsenic in organic baby formula makes me so, so, SO happy that I’m still breastfeeding/pumping.  It’s a MAJOR pain in the nip but the peace of mind is worth it.  Seriously.
  • My brother is visiting this weekend – his flight comes in at 10:30 tonight.  Since I usually don’t stay up that late (I’m an old and tired) I think I’ll try my hand at making homemade bread.  Three weeks ago I successfully made white bread. Two weeks ago I unsuccessfully made an AWFUL tasting wheat bread.  Tonight, I think I’ll give this recipe a shot.

Happy weekend!

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Glad to know that your hubby is okay.
    2012 can only get better for you!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Niki says:

    Hopefully it can only go up from here. 🙂 Glad see you back and blogging!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

