Where's Margie's Money?



Hello out there?!

Oh man, what a crazy 5 – almost 6 – months its been.  I’ve been wanting to come back to the blog world for awhile but life has been cray-ZEE.

My last 6 months in a nutshell:

  • Returned to work full-time after a glorious 13 week maternity leave at the beginning of November.
  • Struggled with adjusting to my new reality and multiple rolls as mother, career-woman and wife.
  • Struggled with my baby adjusting to daycare -working mother’s guilt set in.
  • Moved to a larger (and more expensive) apartment in mid November.
  • The holidays brought a whirlwind of friends and family into town to visit and meet the little one.
  • In January I turned 32 (ah!).
  • The Monday after my b-day, my husband tore his Achille’s heel tendon while playing softball in a work league.
  • For the last four weeks, hubby has been hobbling around the house with a cast and crutches (he had elective surgery mid-January). 
  • With a new baby, a career and an injured out-of-comission husband, I found myself absolutely frazzeled.
  • Last week, husband got his cast off and now he’s in a walking boot – he’s learning to walk again but still using crutches.  This means I’m still shouldering his side of the household duties like grocery shopping, meal preparing, cleaning, and all of the baby-care because he still can’t do much. 

So, yeah, it’s been crazy.  And my little sugar plum?  She’s not exactly cooperating with the whole sleeping through the night thing. AND I’m still breastfeeding – which is something that I’ve happily committed myself to until she’s at least one.  This requires pumping at work 3 times a day (when possible – sometimes only 2).  Thankfully she now takes the bottle while at daycare (but what a stressful process THAT was!).

Finance-wise I have not made any true progress.  Looking at my numbers posted to the left back in August shows me that I’ve actually backslid about $80 in debt.  I have definitely lost a bit of my focus.  But I want it back! 

So, people, I’m making it a goal to participate weekly in MPP’s weekly finance check-ups and to blog AT LEAST one other time during the week.  I’m pretty sure I can do that.  Also, I’m going to attempt to get back into commenting.  For the most part I’ve kept up with everyone!

Yay, it’s good to be back!

Here’s a recent photo of my little pumpkin pants:

She's a cutie!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I just thought about you last week.
    Welcome back.
    She’s a beautiful baby.
    Some times you just have to take life one day at a time.
    Focus on what’s most important, your family. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • Thank you! I definitely needed a break to focus on life – but now I’m ready to get back to getting our finances on track. No more excuses!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
      • I’m looking forward to reading what you’re up.

        Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

