Where's Margie's Money?



Baby is napping

Oh. My. Goodness.  The angel is actually taking a nap and, for the THIRD time today, the nap doesn’t involve sleeping on my chest or in my arms.

She’s 6 weeks old now!  And I’d love to say that it’s gotten easier but it really hasn’t.  Sleep still is sporadic.  Sometimes she goes a solid 3-4 hours at a time.  Other nights we are up every 1.5 to 2 hours.

The last few days I’ve been trying to get her into the habit of napping during the day by herself.  Every time I’d put her down she’d fuss and cry until I picked her up again.  Today, it’s finally working! It still takes quite a bit of rocking and soothing, but once she’s asleep she’s stays asleep.  As soon as we have this down for a few days (knock on wood!) I’m going to start trying to get her to sleep in her bassinet instead of sleep-sharing with us in bed.

We found out last week that Baby has a spot at our number one choice day care. This center is actually located at my work which means that I can see her on my lunch break.  However, it’s also the most expensive: nearly $1,400 per month.  A week from Monday we have a meeting with the person in charge of the infant room to discuss everything we need to know and have our questions answered.

I still have another 6 weeks of maternity leave and I’m dreading going back to work.  It’s not that I want to stay home – because I don’t.  I actually miss my job and my co-workers!  But I will miss being away from her and I worry about her making the adjustment.  I know it will be ok and I’m so grateful  that she’ll be so close – just on the other side of campus – but still . . . it’ll be hard for the first few weeks.

DH goes back to work in 2 weeks.  It’s been so awesome to have him home with me! In fact, I think if we could afford it – we’d have him home all the time.  He’d love being a house husband – cooking and cleaning is totally his thing and he’s really good at it.  Who knows, perhaps we’ll get our wish.  I get the impression that DH’s company isn’t doing too well so we’ll see what happens.

Fiscally, I dropped a lot of money on my friend C’s bachelorette party.  I ended up going for only a few hours because AJ isn’t weaned onto the bottle yet but since I organized it I felt like I had to  at least make an appearance.  I estimate I spent about $300 when taking into account alcohol for the girls, my portion of the dinner, the hotel room, and appetizers and drinks.  One of the girls (that I don’t really know very well – one of C’s former co-workers) hasn’t paid me her share of the hotel ($80) and I’m debating whether or not I should approach her about it. The reason I’m considering not saying anything is that she got us a major discount on the dinner at a fancy steakhouse because she works there. I’m kind of hoping she just forgot about it and will remember when she gets back from her vacation to Italy.  Yes, Italy.  I might be jealous.

Okay, well AJ is waking up so I have to go!

 

 

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kez says:

    Six weeks already?!!!!! Where does that time go?! xo

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  2. * brannon says:

    So nice to hear you’re all doing well! I hope the daycare works out…or even better, your husband can stay with her. I think it’s great if a parent wants to stay home with a child and they have the option to do so.

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

