Where's Margie's Money?



She’s here!!

Baby AJ arrived 10 days ago on August 11 (8 lb, 6 oz, 21.5 inches long)!  She is the sweetest little baby ever and I fell instantly head over heels in love. 

Here’s a glimpse of the preciousness!:

She looks A LOT like her daddy (he’s Samoan).

I think the long walk the day before is what kicked my body into gear!  But even so, labor lasted 18 hours and the only way I can describe it is “intense.” The day began at 3:30 a.m. when my water broke (I didn’t end up needing the 2nd acupuncture appointment after all!) and ended at 11:43 p.m. But those 18 hours went by relatively quickly (I truly lost a sense of time as I focused on breathing through contractions with the support of DH – he was an amazing birth partner!).  I remember at one point (I think I was going through transition) saying to DH that I was NEVER going to do this again!  But as soon as she was born all of that pain went away and all I knew was the absolutely joy of holding her.  When she was placed on my chest for the first time just seconds after her birth, both DH and I cried tears of joy!  I remember thinking in those first few moments, “I can’t believe we ever lived without her – I feel so complete.”

The last week and a half have been an absolute whirl wind as DH and I have adjusted to our new role as parents.  We sleep when we can and spend the rest of the time feeding, changing, burping, and snuggling her – I love tummy time with her against my chest.  I can spend hours just sitting on the sofa just watching her and admiring her tiny, perfect features.

Can you tell I’m smitten?

From a personal finance perspective, I’ve barely spent any money at all.  About $20 on items from the pharmacy for me, $9 on dinner one night, $11.46 on frozen yogurt (our first trip out of the house just the three of us), and $58 on Amazon.com on some breastfeeding related items.  I haven’t moved my car once in the last 10 days and I don’t foresee driving for at least another week so gas is going to be a super low expense this month.

Finally, I thought I’d share what baby items I’ve found to be absolutely awesome and what items I bought that I haven’t gotten any use out of as of yet.

What’s in:

Sleepers/jammies that zip up rather than button up (baby hates to be changes and gets super squirmy/fussy.  It’s SO much faster to zip her up rather than fiddle with all the buttons.  I only have two sets of jams that zip up and when they are clean they are my favorites!

Swaddleme blankets!  These are basically little sacks with flaps that you wrap around baby to secure her arms to her sides. AJ can break out of the tightest swaddles with the standard receiving blankets but these wrap her up so snug that she can’t break free.  Swaddling is one of the 5 S’s recommended in The Happiest Baby on the Block – the BEST baby book I read during my pregnancy.  During the day she sleeps unswaddled so she can exercise her little arms and legs but at night when she gets fussy we’ll wrap her up in one of these and she falls asleep – and STAYS asleep – much better.

What’s out:

The Boppy

My Brestfriend Pillow

Breastfeeding pillows – both the Boppy AND the My BrestFriend (worst name EVER for a product, BTW).  I bought the Boppy and was given the MBF but haven’t found either to be very comfortable.  Instead I’ve been using just a plain old bed pillow covered in a blanket! Maybe when she gets bigger these will get used, particularly the Boppy as it can be used for tummy time but I dunno.

I have SO many blogs to catch up – slowly I’ll be making my way through my blogroll!  Thanks for hanging with me during my hiatus.  I know my postings will be more sporadic for a while but I’ll definitely try to check in at least once a week.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lane says:

    What a beautiful little girl!! Congrats again to the new family member 😀

    LOL @ BreastFriend. oh my.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Kez says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! 🙂
    That swaddle thingy looks really good – some of them look cruel like little straitjackets but that one looks really good – must keep that in mind!
    I’m spending up a storm in preparation for our bub (and I’m probably considered to be a conservative mum to be)!

    Anyway, so happy for you with the new addition to your family xo

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  3. * serendipity says:

    Congrats! Your baby is definitely gorgeous! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  4. * cw531 says:

    Congrats. Isn’t it amazing the love you feel once you see your baby. No one can explain to you how that feels, it is something you understand once you see your own baby. She is beautiful.

    And the swaddlers, I. Love. Them. Best thing ever, and I love The Happiest Baby on the Block.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  5. Congratulations!! You’ve every reason to be “smitten”.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  6. * MommaStar says:

    OMG she’s sooo cute and not to mention finally here!! Congrats on a healthy baby girl!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  7. Congrats. She’s beautiful.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Lindy Mint says:

    Congratulations!! What a cutie. Those swaddle wraps saved me with my little one too.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

