Where's Margie's Money?



Still here – no baby…

Sorry if this blog has become a bit too baby centric – it’s just what’s on my mind these days!  I can’t help it!

Another day has gone by – another day without baby.  Today I was on a mission to move my body as much as possible as the doula that taught our childbirth class said labor progresses much faster when the mom has the ability to get up and walk.  So I went on a TWO hour walk on the beach today and estimate that I went about 2 – 2.5 miles (I was walking VERY slow).  I don’t know if it helped physically but it definitely made a difference mentally.  I went to bed yesterday feeling discouraged.  Today I feel like she’ll be here soon – I just have to stay positive.

I’ve been debating whether or not to go back to the acupuncturist tomorrow at a cost of $80 (first session on Monday was $120 but every session there after is $80).  DH is fairly skeptical of non-western medicine and thinks it’s a waste of money but I stand by my first experience earlier this week and the light contractions I was feeling while on the table…unfortunately those contractions were gone by the following day.  After some thought I’ve decided to give it another try and, I admit, it’s partly an emotional decision.

I think I may have mentioned that if I don’t go into labor by this Monday I will be induced per the policy of my health care provider (the don’t let women go past 41 weeks).  I am really attached to the idea of having a natural birth – intervention and drug free – and I’m so scared that the induction will start a slippery slope of drugs and more drugs . . . and that I may even end up with a c-section.

Now I KNOW that if that’s the case it won’t be the end of the world.  Truly my number once goal is to have a healthy baby in my arms at the end of the day.  But, if I were queen of the world and could control everything under the sun, I would go into labor on my own and have a positive natural experience. 

I’ve considered what would happen and how I would feel if I skipped the second acupuncture treatment and ended up being induced.  I think I would wonder if I should have just done it, I would question if it would have made a difference.  I want to be able to know that I’ve tried EVERYTHING in my power to  have a natural birth and THAT’S why I’m dropping $80 (for a total of $200 this month) on acupuncture.  DH thinks I’m a little nuts but he’s supportive. He knows how important this is to me.

So, tomorrow in the morning I’m headed back to the medical center to have a non stress test.  At 1 p.m. I’ll go for my acupuncture appointment . . . and I hope hope hope that I’ll feel a difference!  Fingers and toes crossed!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Niki says:

    I say do it if it makes you feel better.

    I was induced with both my pregnancies (even with twins, which is rare) my body doesn’t go into labor for some strange reason. I had apprehensions about being induced too (the first time), but I didn’t have to have a c-section for either. In the end it all worked out.

    If I was the queen and controlled everything under the sun, I would make you go into labor right now. I know how it feels to be overdue.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Kez says:

    I don’t yet know the joys of being at the end of pregnancy and still no baby (although my gut feeling says I’ll be earlier than my due date), but I can imagine that you’d want to do everything possible to feel like you’ve got some control or that you did all you could leading up to the birth.
    I’m at that point (about to enter 26th week as of tomorrow) where the whole birth thing is becoming a much more real concept and it weighs on my mind a little. I feel like I’ve been through a lot with my rashes and other stuff during this experience and I often try to grab hold of any experiences I CAN control.
    Thinking of you xo

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

