Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Update and Musings from a Past-Due Pregnant Lady

It’s August 9 which means I’m officially past my due date.  While I didn’t expect that she would actually arrive on August 8 as so few babies are born on their estimated due date, I do have to admit that I’m ready for this baby!

Yesterday was a bit of an expensive day. I got my hair highlighted ($115 including tip) and then had an acupuncture appointment ($120).  I consider both to be worth it! 

This was my second acupuncture treatment – the first time I went was several years ago.  I didn’t feel the needles at all (they are so thin – maybe the width of a piece of hair) and almost IMMEDIATELY I started feeling contractions.  I definitely think it jump started something because last night I woke up to more contractions but nothing so strong or intense that it indicated that I actually was in labor. 

Today I have an appointment with my nurse/midwife and I’m certain that we’ll see some progress from last week in terms of dilation/effacement.  While I’m not looking forward to the exam itself (OUCH!) I’m hoping that another membrane sweep will push me over the edge.  I want to meet my little girl!

In the meantime, I’m drinking red raspberry leaf tea, taking evening primrose oil, and having a glass of pineapple juice every few hours.  These are some of the natural labor induction methods I’ve heard about.  The only thing I’m NOT willing to try is castor oil.  It sounds awful.

On to my Weekly Money Check-Up:

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on a new lamp for our living room and some other stuff from Target.

2. Today I am thankful for being ALMOST done with my pregnancy.  I’m sure I’ll miss parts of it but  it feels so good to be almost done.

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was take a walk on the beach with DH.  We actually went both days over the weekend and I walked with my shoes off in the surf.  I loved it!

4. I will consider this week a success if I go into labor.  Come on baby!!

5. This time last year I was planning for my wedding!  DH and I got married in October 2010 after knowing each other for 12 years and dating for 6.  We knew we wanted to start trying for a baby right away and we got pregnant on our honeymoon in Hawaii.  That’s why we joke that our baby is on “island time” when it comes to making her entrance into the world. 🙂  Not to mention her dad is Samoan so the pacific islander lifestyle is definitely in her blood.  This baby is enjoying the good life in the womb too much!

Thank you, MPP for hosting as always!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lane says:

    LOL island time is right! If the party starts at 7pm, you bet we’re all getting there after 8pm, haha.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. But when you stop being pregnant you wont have random strangers rubbing your tummy for luck!… Again… I’ve just shown too much weirdness havent i?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • * Margie says:

      LOL, thankfully only a few have dared to rub my belly – and they got the evil stare of death when that happened.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  3. So exciting! Must be crazy expecting another family member any minute!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Kez says:

    Wow, I want to conceive in Hawaii next time – must tell the husband haha.
    Good luck with that whole going into labour thing xo

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

