Where's Margie's Money?



August Goals

(photo credit)

I’m making my August goals super simple this month since I have a lot on my plate and don’t really know what to expect.

Personal

  • Survive child birth and have a very positive experience with labor and delivery.
  • Meet my baby!!
  • Successfully establish breastfeeding.
  • Enjoy the first few weeks of her life with DH.
  • Feel okay about turning away visitors & guests if I’m too tired or not up to the company.  Don’t feel guilty about not being there as I have been for my friends. 
  • Sleep as much as possible and not worry about the messes.

Financial

  • Pay off Capital One credit card (actually, this is sort of cheating since I’m posting my goals late and I paid off the card on the 2nd.  Whoohoo!)
  • Save $500 into joint savings

Does anyone have any insight into the first month of bringing home baby?  Any financial pitfalls to avoid or things to think about?  I feel almost TOO prepared – what am I missing?! 

 

 

 

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Serendipity says:

    I don’t think your missing anything but then again I don’t have any babies ( and won’t for sometime since I’m only 26.) Good luck, I can’t wait for you guys to meet her! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Lindy Mint says:

    Too prepared is a good thing. Routines saved me that first month. Scheduling my day around a mid-morning walk, the afternoon nap, and the post-nap tea was a priority, and I often had to say no when my mom would want me to change it up. But I’m a schedule person, so that’s what helps me when things get crazy.

    Giving yourselves both some grace is helpful too, and knowing that being up in the middle of the night won’t last forever.

    Good luck! Can’t wait to hear the good news.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  3. * MommaStar says:

    Sleep now!! once baby doll arrives you can kiss sleeping good bye, but it will be def worth it. I know its sounds insane but really do try to enjoy child birth. I always go into the delivery room excited and I try to have as much fun as possible. The better the environment when baby arrives the more positive baby will be when they get here.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Niki says:

    I think those are fantastic goals. Especially the not feeling guilty about not receiving visitors and messes. Just remind yourself. I hope you have a wonderful experience.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  5. Food that’s fast for you and DH so lack of time and sleep don’t blow your budget with the need for fast meals and unplanned take out. Everyone plans for baby’s needs and often forgets their own. All the best to you all

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

