Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-up Maternity Leave Edition

Today is my first day of maternity leave!  I still work up at 6:30 a.m. without my alarm clock  so I decided to work on my August budget.  It’s really hard to plan when you don’t know what to expect!  I have no idea how this baby is going to impact things like groceries, dining out, gas, etc.  I would assume that right now most of these categories will go down for the first few weeks while DH and I bond with our little one . . . but then there are unknowns like diapers – how many will she go through (We have a good stash but we estimate it will last only 3 weeks – but who knows!)?

On tap for today: my weekly dr. appointment, chiropractor appointment, pedicure, and pick up supplies for the wedding shower invitations. 

That reminds me, thanks for your comments on my last post!  I think I’ve come full circle to accepting that my bride friend is making choices that I wouldn’t make and accepting it even if I disagree and am not happy about it!  And while I STILL think asking for gift cards to Ann Taylor and Banana Republic is super tacky, it’s not my wedding.  So, I’ve decided to let it go and just joyfully support her as my friend.

Now on to the Weekly Money Check-Up.

Brought to you by My Pretty Pennies:

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on groceries – ho hum, boring.

2. Today I am thankful for the ability to be on paid maternity leave for 3 months.

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was rearrange the furniture in our bedroom – set up the bassinet, moved our dresser and set up the upstairs changing station.  Everything is finally in place!  All we need is the baby now!

4. I will consider this week a success if I get to meet my baby.  5 days until my due date!

5. I dream about my baby coming out talking with an old man voice a la Benjamin Button, that she looks like Gollum from Lord of the Rings, that I’m carrying her around in a bag, that we are sitting by the pool and she’s smiling at me, . . . all sorts of baby dreams!  Most are creepy but I’ve had a few really great ones too!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Congrats to you and DH. You can never have enough diapers!!! Good choice with your friends decision. It’s hard when you are part of the planning not to feel it’s a reflection on you and your values. Just went through this when my daughter got married. Her, now husband, wanted a dollar dance at the reception. The way I was raised TOTALLY TACKY!!! As the host for this shindig I couldn’t help it reflected on me and wasn’t happy. Had to look at it as their wedding and part of what his family expected. Turned out to be a huge success at the reception getting people out of their seats to dance in groups celebrating the happy couple and contributing to their honeymoon expenses. Go figure : ) Admire your commitment to your friend with all you have going on in your life.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • Thank you, IM! I appreciate that you can relate to how I had to come full circle on the shower registry! I really want to be happy and feel joy for her – I think sometimes you just have to make a conscience decision to put aside the negative and embrace the positive!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Lane says:

    Haha, slightly creepy dream, my precious! : )

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  3. Seriously, CREEPY!!! UghhhH!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

