Where's Margie's Money?



Confession Time

It’s been a great first day off.  I have a feeling this maternity leave is going to go by SO fast.

I had my first cervical exam at the dr’s and HELLO that was NOT comfortable!!   But the good news is that things are progressing.  It’s relieving to know that SOMETHING is happening because I seriously haven’t seen any symptoms of impending labor.  Still, the information I got today on my progress really doesn’t mean much since all women are different.  It’s still a waiting game. 

I spent the rest of the afternoon tracking down supplies for C’s bridal shower invitations.  I went to Michael’s, Joann’s, and Paper Source (my FAVORITE) and spent nearly $200 . . . which I KNOW is crazy but half of it is going back, I promise.  I was picking stuff out not really sure how it was going to work out or what I was going to find at each store.  I had a vision but couldn’t find the right things to make it work . . . finally, I believe I’ve pulled together the materials to make some really beautiful invites. I’m actually kind of excited to work on them tomorrow.  I’ll post a photo of the finished product.

Also – CONFESSION TIME – this afternoon I bought a new pair of Birkenstocks sandals  . . . and spent nearly $80.  I’ll find room in my budget for them but I have to admit that they weren’t a priority.  I will justify this to you and to me by saying that I have been wanting this pair of Birks ever since I saw this photo on The Sartorliast’s blog back in September of 2009 (yup, I’ve been thinking of these sandals for nearly 2 years now!):

 

(Photo credit)

So cute and stylish on her – I love them paired with shorts (and she does have great legs – I’m going to have to work on mine a bit!) and a tunic-y top.  Birks are a little granola-y and some styles remind me of my 9th grade English teacher (a TOTAL hippie chick who I actually really liked as a teacher even if she was a bit bizarre at times) but with the right outfit, they are super cute in my opinion.  

Yesterday I told DH, “I think I’m FINALLY going to buy those sandals I always talk about.”  And he said to go for it – so I did!  It’s nice to have a pair of slip-on sandals that aren’t flip-flops or cheap-o ones from Target.  I’m looking forward to getting a lot of good use out of these over the next few years. All I need now is the bright yellow Vespa. 😉

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lane says:

    Um, and I’ll take the guy on the moped, please!

    PHEW — when you said Birks… I was thinking those hideous ones that my hippie philosophy college professor also wore. But the ones that you bought look reeeal cute. Love!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • I know – most Birkenstock styles are completely hideous . . . and don’t get me started on the people who were socks with them (the two strap style). But for some reason, this pair caught my eye and I fell in love. I’m pretty sure I can rock them without looking frumpy!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Lindy Mint says:

    Those are cute shoes. Not too granola hippie at all.

    Good luck as you enter the waiting game. If things are progressing, then you shouldn’t have to wait too long. Exciting!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Niki says:

    Oh, I love The Paper Source too and the shoes and the Vespa. You have good taste.

    Yes, good luck with the waiting game and enjoy your time off.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  4. * MommaStar says:

    Absolutely love the Birks..

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  5. * CityFlips says:

    I have those Birks in brown! Love love love them! I actually found them online for about $60 which is the same as it would cost to get them re-soled. I can’t decide if i want new ones or re-soled old ones with memories. I think I want re-soled old ones with memories!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

