Where's Margie's Money?



I’m 38 weeks! Weekly Money Check-Up and Meal Plan Monday

Ahhh!  I’m 38 weeks – exactly 14 days away from my due date of August 8.  This is my last FULL week of work which is a really strange feeling.  Next Tuesday is my last day and that happens to be a division retreat day (and by “retreat” they mean a full day of strategic planning meetings which is completely the OPPOSITE of what the word retreat really  means to me – i.e. a spa day and lots of pampering on the company’s dime. . .  a girl can dream right?)

I had my weekly doctor’s appointment and all is well with the baby.  My midwife doesn’t conduct cervical exams until week 40 (which is A-OK with me!  I’ve heard those don’t exactly feel great!) so I have no idea  if I’m dilating/effacing.  Probably not.  I have ZERO symptoms . . .  I will say that all of my efforts to monitor my caloric intake have gone out the window.  That’s not to say that I’m bingeing  on mac ‘n cheese and cheese burgers but I figure that, at this point, if I want an extra-large bowl of mint chocolate chip ice cream after dinner then I’ve earned it! 

Now . . . on to the my Weekly Money Check-Up

This update brought to you by My Pretty Pennies.

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on groceries.

And since MPP had a sub question on electric bills and what temperature setting our A/C is set to I will just add that on average our bill is about $60 a month for a two-story, 2 bedroom, 1 bath townhouse.  We live on the coast (1 block from the ocean) and as our building is older (probably built in the 70s) we actually don’t have air conditioning.  This isn’t a problem 51 weeks of the year as the early morning and evening fog rolls in and cools everything off.  We sleep with the windows open and get a very pleasant cross breeze.  But for about one week a year, it gets super hot and there is no relief.  Days like that we do what we can to keep cool by using fans, keeping the oven off, taking night showers, etc.

2. Today I am thankful for a new office chair!  My work had some left over money in the budget at the end of the fiscal year and upgraded a few people who had been using some very sorry looking 90s era chairs.  My fancy new chair is SO comfortable and it reclines! 

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was spend Saturday afternoon just hanging out with DH.  He was playing his guitar (which I LOVE – a man with a guitar is super sexy!).  I was knitting on a baby project.  We just sat together doing our own thing and it was so pleasant – completely unplugged.

4. I will consider this week a success if I stick to another $20 challenge for Monday – Friday. I did really well last week and only spent $5.01 on snacks at work.  I want to close out the month on a positive note since lately it’s felt like money has been going through my fingers so I’m doing it again.  Also, I want to drink LOTS of water to keep my swelling to a minimum, so I’m going to try to drink 3 liters every day.

5. A good friend is someone who “gets” you and doesn’t attach strings to your relationship.  A good friend is someone you can laugh with, cry with, and who you respect and who respects you!  I’m really lucky to have several very good friends!

As for meal planning this week – I’ll admit I sort of half-assed it.  I could only think up 3 good things to make so for our 4th I may just resort to raiding the pantry or freezer.  I’m hoping inspiration will hit.

Monday – Breakfast for dinner

Tuesday – Tuna Casserole (1/2 of the batch will go into the freezer for post-baby meals)

Wednesday – fish, rice, and veggies

Thursday – ??? 

Friday – Take-out

Happy Monday, Internet!  Let’s get this week over with!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kez says:

    Wow, you’re so close to popping 🙂
    I can’t wait to be at that point…although I do have some stuff to get prepared though so might need some more time (I’ve got till November)! I just wanna meet the little guy we’re having!! No more pregnancy rash and a bundle of joy sounds like a win/win!

    You have inspired me to watch my spending/budgeting/saving (what’s saving?) and I have now got an app for my iPhone which I am dying to use! Just gotta get the hubby to remember to keep all his receipts so we can track EVERYTHING. I suspect we’re wasting a lot of cash on stupid little things.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • I know! So close yet I feel these last few weeks are going to go by so slowly!

      The spending/budgeting is great – I’m so glad you are getting into it. In my opinion, nothing bad can happen from being more in touch with where your money is being spent!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

