Where's Margie's Money?



Why I love you and Weekend Plans

You guys are so smart! Thank you to everyone who commented and sympathized as well as offered great advice on calling American Express and asking them to waive the fee and/or close the account.

First, let me say that I am not an assertive girl.  I like to follow the rules and play nice with everyone.  When that $450 hit my account I was resigned to it.  I thought, hey, I was stupid enough to sign up for it – that must mean I should have to pay for my mistakes even if it seriously hurts.  It didn’t even occur to me that I could call American Express and ask them to do something about it. 

This morning, after reading your comments and suggestions, I decided to go ahead and give calling them a try.  I was actually NERVOUS about this.  I hate confrontation (and yes, I saw this as being assertive and confrontational).  I was expecting a mean customer service agent to pick up and laugh at me and my stupidity. 

But you know what happened?  I got the nicest lady ever on the phone, I explained my situation and asked if I could have the fee waived.  At first she said no . . . and my heart sank . . . so I said, what if I close my account – would the fee be waived then?  That’s when she said well, yes, if I closed the account then they would waive the fee for the upcoming year but that they didnt’ want to lose me as a customer.  She offered to change my card from the  Platinum to a more basic card – one with no annual fees.  I said I’d only do it if I could transfer my balance with no charge and my percentage rate wouldn’t go up.  And . . . she said that wasn’t a problem!

So this makes me very happy.  I didn’t really want to close it as this card has the highest limit and once I pay it off I think it will really help with my debt to credit ratio (is this stupid though?  Tell me if you think I really should have just closed it).  The $450 is fee gone and I can continue on with my debt reduction plan as scheduled!!

This ALSO means that my side bar has been updated again for the month of July and my credit card debt is now just over $5K.  With only a week to go in the month, I’m pretty sure I can make an additional payment to Capital One to get that bad boy down to less than $5K.  That would feel so great!

So, YAY!!  Thank you for educating me, fellow bloggers! This is why I’m so glad to be part of this community!

Now, onto some lighter subjects:

It’s Friday!!  DH doesn’t have to go into work at all this weekend and this makes us both really excited. 

Tonight, we are meeting another couple for drinks and appetizers at our favorite beach bar.  Of course I’m having water or maybe I’ll splash out and order a club soda with cranberry . . .

We don’t have much in the way of plans for Saturday or Sunday . . . I know he wants to cut loose a bit and I’m totally okay with that.  I just asked that if he goes out with his friends to keep his phone on and and to stay keep the alcohol to a minimum so he can safely drive home in case I go into labor!  Seriously, it could happen at any point now.  I’ll be 38 weeks on Monday!

I’m in full nesting mode and all I truly want to do is get my hair cut at SuperCuts (I’ll be getting my roots touched up at my usual salon next weekend but their hair cuts are priced at $50 which is ridiculous). . . I’m thinking of cutting off about four inches to just below shoulder length . . . clean and nap.  I’m a boring super pregnant lady, what can I say! 

Happy weekend fellow bloggers!!  Hope you have a great one!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Be really careful with Amex, my icing on the cake was when they cut my credit line down to 500 dollars becuase I used my card at a strip club (bachelor party)… I canceled them the next day after they sent me a letter telling me that.

    HS

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • Seriously!? Am Ex makes judgement calls on what you can and can’t spend your money on? That’s nuts!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Niki says:

    Oh, great news. So glad you called.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Lane says:

    I’m such a doormat when it comes to big companies like Bank of A, Chase, etc. You’re an inspiration to me for standing up to them! 😀

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
    • Aw, thanks! And I will say that I WAS totally nervous to call. I honestly didn’t think it would work. I thought I would be judged and rediculed by the customer service rep. But the anticipation of the call was so much worse than just doing it. Like going to the dentist to get a cavity filled!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  4. So glad you called! I’m with you that negotiating is something I learned from the PF blogging community.. I would have never thought to argue prices or charges of things until I started reading blogs and seeing that it works! I actually argued $250 off my credit card bill last month (charges I was totally guilty of ringing up myself.. it was 100% my fault and I knew it, but asking gets you EVERYTHING).

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

