Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check Up

This weekly update brought to you by Ginna – also known as My Pretty Pennies!

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was definitely on the vet bill for Kona.

2. Today I am thankful for living in the modern age.  I’ve been thinking about how it would have TOTALLY sucked to be pregnant back in the day.   For some reason I keep thinking about the novel “The Good Earth” by Pearl S. Buck. I haven’t read this book in years but the character O-Lan and her story really resonated with me.  O-Lan works every day in the rice fields, goes home to fix dinner for her husband, and then gives birth alone in her room!  Wonder woman!

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was chat on the phone with one of my dearest friends that lives on the east coast.  I hate how far-flung many of my good friends are but it’s great when you can pick up after a month and have a great conversation as if you saw them the day before!

4. I will consider this week a success if I stick to my $20 budget for Monday through Friday.  Today I will be tempted to buy lunch since I didn’t make one at home, but I have a lot of snacks to munch on and there are leftovers from yesterday’s shower that my work gave me.

5. My favorite cuisine to prepare is Mexican. I LOVE Mexican food and while there is no shortage of amazing taquerias in San Diego, I still enjoy preparing homemade tacos, burritos and enchiladas – the more spicy the better!

Leave a Reply

