Where's Margie's Money?



I’m 37 weeks! Weekend Recap! Meal Plan Monday!

Peeps, I only have 21 days to go until my due date.  I’m 37 weeks today! This morning, I considered calling out sick – kinda feeling achy and my digestive system has been having some, um, issues.  But I decided to suck it up and go in (where I am now writing this post: model employee = me).  I didn’t want to waste a sick day and my dr. appointment this afternoon is right across the street from my office so I’d have to drive up here anyway. 

Lucky me, I only have 12 more working days left until I go on my maternity leave.  All my paperwork is turned in to HR and it looks like I’m good to go.  I’m incredibly lucky because the entire 3 month leave will be paid in full thanks to the crazy amount of vacation/sick time I have on the books plus I get 30 days paid leave from my employer.  I know the leave won’t be a holiday (Blogging Away Debt is giving me a sneak preview as to what to expect) but I can’t help but feel excited.  I know I’ll miss work but I’ve been working since the age of 14!  It’ll be nice not to have looming deadlines, office politics, or projects to worry about . . . it’ll just be all about taking care of me and the baby. 

The weekend went WAY too fast.  I did get in my nap as well as accomplish most of the things on my to-do list.  The best thing we did all weekend was rent a Rug Doctor and clean our carpets.  Seriously, it was the best $40 we’ve spent in a long time and we have vowed to do this more regularly from here on out.  I can’t wait for the day when we live in a house with hardwood flooring . . . carpets + 1 dog + 2 indoor/outdoor cats = total grossness. 

Also this weekend I took the dog to the vet and paid a nearly $300 vet bill.  :-/  Of course I’m happy to pay it because my dog is my fur baby, but from here on out I’ve GOT to start planning for these annual expenses.  This is definitely going to hurt some of my monthly savings goals.

Sunday I did a lot of running arround – mostly grocery shopping.  Here’s my meal plan for the week – going simple!

Monday – Tortillini with pesto

Tuesday – Homemade burritos

Wednesday (yoga night) – grilled cheese/tuna melts

Thursday – Black bean burgers and fries

Friday – Take-out

Thanks to the vet bill and the fact that my dining out/entertainment expenses are already up there for the month, I’m giving myself a mini-challenge.  I’m going to keep my expenses down to $20 for Monday – Friday.  I have everything I need in terms of gas for my car, food for meals . . . there’s nothing that I NEED. So that $20 should be more than enough to cover the cereal and bread that I forgot to buy and my morning cups of tea (25 cents each).

Hope everyone has a good start to their week!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lane says:

    It will feel so good when you realize you have the same $20 bill in your wallet! Good luck, Margie : )

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

