Where's Margie's Money?



Pet Expenses

 

Meet Kona my 8 year-old (or so) Black Lab/Great Dane mix!  A lap dog trapped in a 90 lb body.

 And Luna “Bear” who just celebrated her 4th birthday last week! 

It’s that time of year again . . . my cat and dog are due for their annual examines and vaccinations.  Unfortunately, I haven’t  planned for the expenses and, in the case of my dog, I think they may be a bit high – she’s been neurotically biting her tail raw in a few places and I can’t figure out why.  I’ve tried some over-the-counter sprays and creams but nothing seems to make her want to stop.  I think it’s time to bring her in and put her on some antibiotics and hope that helps. 

Her physical exam will be $62 and her booster shots $51 . . . plus the meds (if needed) for her tail and a new prescription for flea meds.

As for the cat, her shots and exam will come to a toal of $106.  I’d also like to have her checked out for worms.  She’s an outdoor cat and I suspect that she’s been infected.  That will include collecting a stool sample and having that analyzed.  Not sure what the cost of that will be.

I hate to put off these visits because they are so important for their wellness and health.  But, it’s spendy and I’m bummed that I’ve been so short-sighted about budgeting for them.  So, I decided to take in Kona this Saturday because I feel her needs are more immediate.  Plus, she’ll be going to my parents house for a few weeks after the baby is born and I don’t want them to have to worry about her at all (they LOVE Kona and would totally take her to the vet for me – but since she’s MY dog I feel like it’s my responsibility to take care of this.  I’m a grown woman – with an almost child! I should have this crap figured out by now.)

As for Bear, I’m sorry to say that I will be rescheduling her annual visit to August.  I’m expecting my expenses to be lower because I’ll be on leave from work (thus, less driving, less eating out, etc.).

Also starting in August, I’m going to begin setting aside $20 a month into a vet fund so this time next year I’ll have $240 saved and won’t have to worry about where to pull the money.

Gah, adventures in budgeting/personal finance.  One day I’ll get good at this!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kez says:

    Budgeting sure is fun (not) when you’re expecting a baby! All these weird expenses come up out of nowhere! Husband and I feel like we’re constantly playing catch up!
    I took my dog to the vet yesterday for her needles. I would have put it off another couple of pay packets but she had a sore paw which she didn’t want to put her weight on and we couldn’t figure it out. Had to be a good fur mummy! She’s almost 9 and I think arthritis may be kicking in – poor thing.
    *sigh*

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
    • Oh, your poor pup! It’s tough to see them age – I’m dreading some of the medical issues that are on the horizon for our dog . . . all the more reason to start budgeting now. Love our pets but yikes, sometimes they can be expensive . . . but definitely worth it. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

