Where's Margie's Money?



Net Worth Update

A few days ago I figured out my total debt.

Today I pulled up all of my various accounts and figured out the positive side of the story!

Cash – $245 (I’m only including money that is currently in my personal savings accounts – not what’s currently in my checking account and not the funds that are in our joint account).

Roth IRA – $3,825

Retirement – $12,815 (This one is tricky.  As a public employee, I pay into a retirement system.  They provide only ANNUAL statements that show me how much I’ve contributed . . . but not what my employer has contributed (although my paycheck stubs do reflect their contribution on my behalf each month).  So figuring out the actual value is confusing – I’m only including my personal contributions in the above figure.  Also, I have two other separate retirement accounts (a 403(b) and a 457 Deferred Compensation Account) that I contribute to which  provide quarterly statements.

Other – $3,606 (Cash value of my life insurance policy)

In my net worth I’m not including other personal assets that are material – such as my engagement/wedding rings, my car, etc.

So, I’m calculating my total net worth as -$12,065 . . . and rather than update monthly, I’ll plan to update quarterly since that’s when (most) of my retirement accounts provide me with statements.  🙂

I’m actually quite pleased with that number!  I mean, I want it to be positive but it’s not as awful as I thought it would be.  It’s inspiring – I want to see my net worth increase!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lane says:

    That is encouraging!! I can’t wait to see it begin evening out, then up and out to the positives 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  2. Thanks!! Me too!!!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

