Where's Margie's Money?



The big picture

I decided to try to figure out what my net worth is. 

As of today, my total debts equate to $32,556.00

That breaks down to:

  • $17,883 in student loans
  • $5,152 on credit cards
  • $9,571 car loan

The next step for me is to find out the positive figures – how much money do I have in my various retirement accounts, etc.

It’ll be interesting to see what the big picture figure is . . . but I’m pretty sure that whatever I have in those accounts won’t be more than my debts.  Sad but true.  Still, it’s good for me to see the big picture and I’m going to start tracking this at the beginning of each month.

In positive news, I checked Credit Karma today and my credit score has jumped to an all time high!  My score is now 682 a change of 19 points in one month.  The reason?  My credit card utilization has dropped to 75 percent – this is likely due to the big chunk of money I threw at my Capital One card last month. 

It’s really great to see this positive progress.  Just this morning I was lamenting to myself that I wasn’t truly getting anywhere with my personal finance goals.  Sure, I’ve paid off $1,000 now but it’s taken me months!  This was just the kick in the butt that I needed to know that even if my pace is slow, continuing to be diligent in paying off my debt IS making a difference. 

 

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. myFico Sore « In Mint Condition pingbacked on 6 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. * Lane says:

    Congrats on the credit score improvement! I’m so terrified to see my credit score, being that my utilization is over 90% for most of my cards.

    I’ll check back again when you figure out your net worth. (You should see mine. It’s pretty bad! Sigh.)

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  2. We are so much better than our negative net worth!! **Holding up wine glass** Here’s to it being positive sooner rather than later. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
    • Heck yeah! I’ll cheers to that with my non-alcoholic spritzer! In a few months I’ll order a REAL glass of wine. 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

