Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-Up

I’m a little late with my check-up this week but late is better than never!  Thanks as always to My Pretty Pennies for hosting this!

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on $232 on the bridesmaids dress I’ll be wearing this October.  They were having a sale so I got $15 off so I’m glad I ended up waiting until this month to buy it.  It hurts to spend this much on a dress I’ll probably only wear once, but I have to admit I’m excited to be part of my friend’s big day despite the expenses involved.

This is the dress in the color (sort of a marigold yellow in person):

2. Today I am thankful for the fact that none of my pregnancy dreams have come true!  Lately I’ve been dreaming such weird stuff.  In one, I gave birth to my cat . . . and then she ran away!  In another, my baby had an old man’s voice and kept asking me about stuff she overheard while in utero.  And then last night I dreamt that my belly came off and fell on the floor!  I tried to put it back on but it was broken.  These dreams are nuts!!

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was attend my aunt’s graduation.  She’s the first in our family to earn a Ph.D. and I’m so proud of her – at 63, she proves that you are never to old to pursue your dreams!

4. I will consider this week a success if I just make it through!  No big goals for me this week – I just want to make it to the end!

5. One thing I appreciate about my dad is how he has always been there for me.  My parents divorced when I was in kindergarten. My mom has had lots of issues over the years and I never really felt that I could depend on her . . . but my dad – he’s always been there.  He was very strict growing up and sometimes I resented him for it, but looking back I see now that I really needed him to be that way for me – to keep me in line and out of trouble.  Dad is also extremely frugal and has made some excellent financial choices in his life (always pays cash for cars, his home mortgage is completely paid off, was able to retire at 65 but sometimes still does consulting work on the side) so I’ve been looking to him for advice and insight on some of these matters – I just wish I had started listening much much sooner!!

Leave a Reply

