Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-up

Ugh, what a long work day.  Here’s my weekly money check-up, thanks to My Pretty Pennies for hosting as usual!

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was just over $100 at Target.  I went shopping Saturday morning with the hope of finding a cute new maternity outfit – ugh, I’ve been feeling so blah about my clothes.  I’m sick of the few things that fit me and I feel like I just keep wearing them over and over again.  I bought a black maxi dress and a cute aqua colored t-shirt . . . but I’m taking the dress back.  I wasn’t sure about it in the dressing room and then when I got home and asked DH about it he confirmed it wasn’t flattering – just too much fabric! It made me look like I was wearing a tent.  Other purchases included a stand-in wedding band to wear while my rings are at the jeweler getting appraised for insurance purposes (not a necessary purchase but I feel naked without my rings!), and some pet supplies.

2. Today I am thankful having a relatively easy pregnancy.  As of Wednesday I’ll be 7 months along and I’m still sleeping relatively well, not feeling too achy, and haven’t had some of the symptoms other women get such as swelling and heart burn. I hope it lasts!

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was go to the dog park – love to see my dog happily chase rabbits and other dogs to her heart’s content.  I need to get to the dog park more frequently for both of our sake.

4. I will consider this week a success if I maintain my patience and good humor while traveling with my neurotic mother to Seattle and back.

5. One of my pet peeves is when your pedicurist/manicurist or other spa professional is a chatty Cathy and doesn’t let you just relax and enjoy the trashy magazines.  I had one of the worst pedicure experiences of my life this Sunday when my pedicurist (not my normal salon – went to a new place because I had time to kill and it was convenient) over-shared about her family (who are apparently all drug addicts), the rash on BOTH of her boobs (yes, she even showed me), the drama she had with an ex-coworker (who apparently stole her stuff and used her supplies), and so much more it hurts to relive the experience.  I was hoping to get a manicure done but when I found out she would also be the one to do it I said I was running late for an appointment and ran out of there faster than the wind!

In other news, no menu planning this week.  I forgot that we’re having a house guest staying with us through Sunday and it is totally throwing off our schedules.

Leave a Reply

