Where's Margie's Money?



May Spending/Goal Recap

Another month, another mixed bag of emotions about my progress:

How I spent my money:

Gas: $173.40 (over budget by $23.40 . . . and yet I don’t feel like I did a lot of driving at all – definitely less than in April.  I’m chalking this up to gas being in the $4.30/gl range for the majority of May.)

Groceries: $349.93 (over budget by $149.93 . . . I have come to the realization that keeping our budget to under $200 a month is completely unrealistic.  Next month I’m bumping this to $300.)

Dining Out: $56.60 (underbudget by $18.34!)

Home & Cleaning Supplies: $11.94 (didn’t have a budget for this in May but needed two cake pans to bake a cake to bring over to a friend’s home)

Home Office Supplies: $47.30 (another unbudgeted category – bought file folders and a label maker)

Medical Expenses: $96.00 (yet ANOTHER unbudgeted area – signed up for a 16 hour birthing class through my medical care provider)

Yoga Classes: $60

Movies/Music: $27.99 (our Netflix subscription and two tickets to see Bridesmaids)

Gifts: $42.41 (Mother’s Day and chipped in for my boss’ wedding gift)

Salon/Beauty Supplies: $299.00 (Ouch!  I had my hair highlighted, got a facial, and had a pedicure)

Yarn/Crafts: $8.32 (unbudgeted – bought a set of three crochet hooks to make my baby a hat!)

Vacation/Travel: $285.55 (plane ticket for unexpected trip to Seattle in June)

Pets: $79.94 (grooming for dog and new cat collar – which cat promptly took off and lost)

Postage: $5.55

May 2011 Goals:

Personal. 

  • Attend yoga seven times Fail.  I THINK I attended four times due to conflicts that arose.
  • Do yoga video four times a week Total Fail.  I didn’t do this once!
  • Organize wedding photos and decide which ones I’ll have printed and framed (yup, I’m going to keep bumping this project from month-to-month until I’m so sick of seeing it I’ll just do it already!!) Fail. Didn’t even THINK about this.
  • Finish current baby knitting projects (sweater and booties) and don’t buy anymore yarn!! Fail.  I finished the booties, knit another pair of booties for a friend, and completed two hats, but didn’t finish the sweater.

financial

  • Brown bag my lunch to work four out of five days of the week minimum. Success.  I did great on this goal.
  • Deposit $500 into joint savings (we just crossed the $11K threshold in April!! I’m excited to see if we can hit $15K before the baby gets here in August!!) Fail. Didn’t deposit anything thanks to additional expenses related to travel, the birth class, and a decision to use whatever I would have had left to deposit in June to put toward my second credit card.
  • Stretch goal – pay off credit card #1 (only $100 to go!!!) Success!  I did it and it felt great!!
  • Stretch goal – save $875 into joint savings Fail.  Wow, I don’t even know what I was thinking with this one.
  • Meal plan each week and stay under $200 grocery budget Semi Success/Fail.  Didn’t stay under budget but did meal plan.

Reflections on this month:

So clearly there are areas in my budget that I should have either prepared for better or just cracked the whip and said no to.  Liiiiike, travel.  If I had a travel fund, surprise trips wouldn’t be such a big deal.  Instead, I had to take the funds out of my monthly budget and pay the consequences by not having any money to put toward savings.  Another big-ticket item this month was related to beauty.  I admit I struggle with this one.  I really like having my hair and nails done and in many respects I justify it because the industry I work in values a professional and polished look.  I’m okay with budgeting these expenses in because they are important to me.  But where I need to do better is with the beauty splurges . . . like a $140 facial.  I don’t see anything wrong with splurging on spa treatments but I need to plan/save for them or make other major cuts elsewhere in my budget (which I didn’t do this month).

Aside from the mistakes I made, I’m still proud that I paid off my first credit card this month!  It’s inspiring to see the positive change and that makes me want to do better in other areas of my personal life.

 

Leave a Reply

