Where's Margie's Money?



Tuesday This and That

I can’t believe how quickly this year is flying by – is it truly already the end of May?  Crazy!

I just went online to see if my payment to my credit card went through and it did!  I love to see the current balance at $0.00!  I’m on such a personal finance high that I can’t wait until June to make more progress.  I’m due a check from my freelance gig on May 31 and I’m planning on using most of it to make a nice sized payment to my second credit card.

I also just checked Credit Karma and my score has jumped within the last month from 643 in April to 663 today.  It’s amazing how lowering my open credit card utilization impacts the score so much.  I wonder if paying off all my debt will jump it up to over 700?  That would be amazing.

I’m 30 weeks pregnant now – with approximately 10 more weeks at work I was hoping to skate by some of the more difficult projects at work but I just found out yesterday that I’ve been assigned a huge one that is due July 25 – exactly two weeks before my due date.  I can’t say that I’m thrilled about this as the timeline has been crunched to accommodate my baby’s arrival . . . which means that the stress level is going to be very high.  And all I can think about is, what if she comes early?  One of my good friends had her baby four weeks early – that could totally happen to me!  Ahhhh!!!  I guess this means that I’m going to totally earn my 12 weeks off.  :-/

In other pregnancy/work-related words, I found myself suddenly surrounded by three female co-workers yesterday who thought that their opinions mattered when it came to my birth plan.  It’s not like I go around talking about my pregnancy all day – in fact, I don’t.  I want to be treated like any other normal woman in the workplace.  Questions about how I’m feeling are nice but seriously they do get old . . . especially since I always answer “I feel great!”.

Yesterday’s question of the day was, are you having a natural birth?  Once I admitted that yes, that’s my plan I was pounced on!  All three women chimed in with their stories about how I’m crazy not to have an epidural – and one of the women hasn’t even had kids yet!  Got to love that.  Someone said, “you know, you don’t have to be a hero!”  That comment totally bugged the crap out of me.  I’m NOT going drug-free because I want to play the hero or because I think it makes me better than anyone else.  I just want to try it.  I want to experience child-birth for what it is.  I equate it to running a marathon where you experience 26.2 miles of pain but at the end it was an amazing and empowering experience that you got through.  Of course, I’m not stupid: if it hurts so much that I can’t stand it I’ll ask for help.  But in the meantime, I want to have the freedom to move about the room and labor naturally without being restricted to a bed because I can’t feel my legs.  I want this to be something that DH and I do together! I think it’ll be an amazing experience for us. I don’t pass judgement on women who decide to have epidurals.  More power to them.  So I just ask that I not be judged for my choices.  It’s amazing to me that so many people have opinions on this type of stuff!  And seriously, the office is not the place to discuss it.  So, after I explained (or defended as that’s what it felt like) my reasoning I inched out of the room and went for a walk.  By the time I got back to my desk they had dispersed. Ugh.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Niki says:

    Congrats on a zero balance. Love that personal finance high:)

    People will always give their unwanted or unprovoked opinions. You can’t let them bother you. I think it is an amazing thing you want to do. I had one with my twins, my doctor feared we would have to do an emergency c-section, that never happened. With my son, everything went so quickly, I didn’t get one. It really wasn’t by choice, but he was easier to deliver than my twins. That could have been because he was my third. But I did feel it more and I really pushed to get him out, because of the pain, but it was over in a few minutes. It took me a couple hours with my daughters.

    Sorry for sharing my birth story, now people are sharing unsolicited stories:) It is definitely a personal decision or a doctor mandated one. I wish you the best and hope your last few weeks at work aren’t too crazy.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

