Where's Margie's Money?



I did it!

(Photo credit)

The balance on the credit card that I’ve been working to pay off got down to just over $100 this month ($101.69 to be exact).  All month I’ve really wanted to just pay it off and the thought has been constantly on the back of my mind.  But . .  . I couldn’t bring myself to just do it because I knew that if I did, I’d have to live on a restricted budget for the rest of the month and I wouldn’t be able to buy the bridesmaid dress until June.  But today, I decided that the pain would be worth the reward. Just moments ago I went online and paid it off!!  Yay!

This is a pretty big milestone for me.  In February when I started this blog all of my cards were flirting with their limits.  I was over-spending each month and using credit to make up the difference.  Looking at statements from last year I charged everything from gas to groceries to fast food and more.

Good-bye, Orchard Bank credit card with your 12.9% APR.  I look forward to never needing your services again.

However, I am taking a page from Serendipity‘s book and putting myself on a strict $50 budget (not including gas) for the rest of the month.  I think I can do it . . . I shouldn’t have any expenses for the rest of the work week.  We are definitely not going to Vegas for the weekend (thank goodness!) so I don’t have to worry about that.  The only thing that will probably come up is postage to ship a birthday package to a friend and entertainment/food costs for the three-day Memorial Day weekend.  Oh, and food for the last pesky day in May.  But I think I can do it!!  If I’m successful, I’ll still have half of the cost of the dress and I can go ahead and order it on June 1.

So now my question is for you more experienced PF bloggers – what do I do with this paid off card?  Close the account or keep it open to maintain credit history? I’d love to hear what you did/are doing.

P.S. Capital One – you are going down next!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Serendipity says:

    Congrats! I know that is a huge achievement for you. And good luck on spending only $50. I know of all people it’s extremely hard so I’ll be rooting for you friend! Keep me updated.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

