Where's Margie's Money?



Weekend Recap and Weekly Money Check-up

I feel like I was so on the go this weekend but it was great – a nice balance of socializing, running errands, and meeting family obligations.  It was also a slightly spendy weekend:

In addition to filling up my gas tank ($48!) and buying groceries for the week I spent $47.38 at Staples on filing supplies (a label maker, manila folders, and hanging file folders), $37.58 at CVS ($35 of which was cash back that I spent on movie tickets to see Bridesmaids – girls, it was HILARIOUS!!! – and dinner on Saturday night), and $42.36 at Motherhood Maternity (in addition to the blue shirt I needed to buy, I ended up buying one more shirt because it was BOGO 50 percent off and a nursing bra…holy crap, they measured me and I’ve gone up two full cup sizes!  I’m a D!  Holy smokes.)  Grand total (not including gas and groceries) was $127.32. 

I have to say that I’m really glad I got those filing supplies at Staples.  I was able to knock out a few tasks from my 52 Tasks in 52 Weeks list by emptying out the wicker basket in our front room that has become a catch-all for random papers and mail that I never get around to dealing with.  I also emptied out the metal file box of papers which had become DH’s spot to dump random stuff.  It felt great to get those two spaces organized and now we have an official file box for account statements and other important papers! Yay!

Also, I’ve just got to say – ladies, if you haven’t gone in recently to have a bra fitting you definitely should.  I knew my “girls” were growing but assumed I had just gone up a single cup size and bought a bra online.  It did the job but wasn’t as comfy and shapely as I had hoped.  When I went into Motherhood Maternity they measured me and I found out I was bigger than I thought.  My new bra is SO much better and I’m officially retiring my “little” bras until I (hopefully) return to that size post-breastfeeding . . . although my mom tells me that I’ll never be that small again (She was a B – grew to a DD and is now a C).  Call me crazy as I know our nation is obsessed with huge boobs, but I rather liked my B cups!  This is sad news.  Unfortunately, DH doesn’t understand what my problem is.  Men!

Okay, on to the Weekly Money Check-up:

(Photo credit)

Every week, My Pretty Pennies hosts a Weekly Money Check-up!

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on a bundle of five prenatal yoga classes at my studio – $60.  Unfortunately I missed this Saturday morning’s class because I stayed on the phone with my friend (the one I mentioned recently that moved to Las Vegas) who has officially broken up with her boyfriend of three years.  Can’t say that I’m surprised about that!

2. Today I am thankful for a happy and healthy pregnancy! I went to my six month check-up today and my baby girl continues to have a healthy heartbeat.  So far I’ve gained a total of 19 lbs (a necessary evil) and she is measuring right on track!  Only 11 weeks to go!!!! 

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was take my dog to the dog park with my friend C and her pups!  I love it when I can let Kona off leash!  I should try to do this EVERY weekend.

4. I will consider this week a success if I cap spending this work week to just my utility bill, my daily 25 cent hot water, batteries and strawberries (a weird combo I know).  

5. My favorite magazine is . . . I don’t have one!  I don’t subscribe to any magazines.  At the hair/nail salon, I’ll pick up People, US Magazine, or something like that but I wouldn’t say that I any of them are a “favorite”.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Serendipity says:

    I love the idea of 52 tasks to complete in 52 weeks. I might have to make one of my own to fit for the rest of the year. It could be part of my “trying to get organized” goal I made for myself. Quite often I make goals and can’t figure out how to get there. Good luck on your spending for the week, you can do it!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

