Where's Margie's Money?



Meal Plan Monday

I have to admit that I was super lazy with meal planning this week.  I didn’t even bother looking at store ads and I barely made a list before I left the house.  I decided to just “wing it.”  Right now I’m not in the cooking mood and just want no frills, quick and easy meals.  This is what I ended up coming up with:

Monday – vegetarian chile (I’m a little embarrassed to admit I bought canned chile!  Just not in the mood to make the good stuff from scratch), cornbread, and corn on the cob

Tuesday – vegetarian lasagna (frozen from Trader Joe’s) andbrocoli

Wednesday – grilled cheese/tuna melts or veggie burgers and garlic fries

Thursday – cheese pizza (and maybe I’ll pick up some toppings later in the week if I get inspired) using dough from Trader’s Joes

Friday – take out or whatever meal we don’t eat on Wednesday?

See what I mean?  Totally uninspired!

Total spent: $56.72 at Trader Joe’s and $25.70 at Smart & Final for a total of: $82.40.  I think it’s safe to say at this point that I’m not going to meet my grocery budget for the month.

BTW, last week’s menu went great with the exception of the brocoli soup – that turned out terrible.  The Southwest salad was really good though! However, I didn’t use the dressing recipe (I mixed it up but it didn’t look/taste very good) and instead combined some hot salsa with ranch.  DH said he’d definitely eat it again! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

