Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-up

(Photo Credit)

Each Monday, My Pretty Pennies hosts a Weekly Money Check-Up.  Here’s mine for this week:

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was $299.80 for a roundtrip ticket to Seattle next month to visit my aunt and attend her commencement ceremony.  I also bought a ticket for my mom but she sent me a check for her half yesterday which was nice.  I wasn’t sure if she’d be able to pay me back right away so I was prepared to chalk it up to gift status.

2. Today I am thankful for weekends.  It’s Monday and the start of another week but I feel like I got a lot accomplished on my two days off, including some much-needed R&R!

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was have dinner with friends J&E at their home.  Again, not technically free as I had to buy ingredients for a cake and salad that we brought over, but much cheaper than going out to eat.  Added bonus: I got to cuddle their seven month old son, help E give him a bath and put him to bed, and got tons of great advice from both of them on the transition to parenthood.  DH asked two great questions: What was the best thing that you put on your registry?  And, What would you do differently now if you had a chance for a do-over.  Their answers were a) a baby swing and swaddle blankets that velcro close, and b) buy only one car seat but two bases for each car (rather than two car seats AND two bases).  I had no idea that you could buy the base of the car seat separately!  This tip will definitely save us at least $150.

 4. I will consider this week a success if I make it to yoga twice and not spend any money during the work week  with the exception of purchasing a 5 class package for yoga ($60), hamburger buns (I forgot to pick them up on Sunday!), and hot water (every morning I spend 25 cents on a cup of hot water for my tea).

5. The summer movie I am most looking forward to is Bridesmaids!  It looks hilarious – I love a good comedy and it’s so appropriate since I’m a bridesmaid in a wedding this autumn.  I’m hoping to convince the bride and the other girls to go!

Leave a Reply

