Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-up

(Photo Credit)

Each week My Pretty Pennies hosts a weekly money check-up.

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on a facial ($144 including 20 percent tip).  It was AMAZING (my first professional facial ever) and I loved every moment of it (as well as the time spent enjoying the other spa amenities like the pool) but wish I had been a better planner about this expense.  DH and I decided to have a spa day last Friday and went yesterday.  I knew that it was an unbudgeted splurge but I did it anyway . . . because I wanted to spend the afternoon with DH “celebrating” our 6 month wedding anniversary . . . because I’ve been feeling achy from pregnancy and being pampered sounded extremely nice . . . and because my skin has been going through a lot of changes thanks to the hormones (VERY dry) and I thought this would be good for it.  At the end of the day, I didn’t regret it . . . but I do wish I had put more planning into the splurge.  Eh, sometimes it sucks to be accountable and analyze your purchases like this.  Wish I could sweep it under the carpet and just pretend it didn’t happen. 😉

2. Today I am thankful for English Breakfast tea.  It’s the little things sometimes that make you happy, right?  I’ve cut out caffeine except lately I’ve been enjoying two cups of tea at work during the day.  I love black tea and the amount of caffeine is extremely minimal (technically you are allowed 200 milligrams a day – so I’m well below that threshold). 

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was discover a prenatal/postnatal yoga video on Netflix!  This wasn’t EXACTLY free because we have the $7.99/month membership that is for unlimited downloads but the cost per view is extremely low. I did the video yesterday and then again this morning and I am excited to use this to fill in the gaps between my two classes a week at the studio.

4. I will consider this week a success if I do yoga in the morning (via the video) four times.  BTW, my morning-T.V. ban from last week worked out pretty good although I did switch on the news as I was getting ready for work.  I’m going to continue this ban throughout the month.

5. One thing I appreciate about my mom is her generosity.  She is extremely low-income (lives of Social Security with very little other revenue coming in each month) but if I told her I needed something she wouldn’t hesitate to buy it for me if she could.  She would give me 99 cents of her last dollar without batting an eye or feeling any resentment about it.  I rarely accept gifts from her because of her financial situation but when she does give, she gives from the heart.

Leave a Reply

