Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-up

Check out My Pretty Pennies for this week’s money check-up.

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on gas: $45.20 to fill my car up.  Ouch.  I also spent quite a bit on nursery furniture (see my last post) but this was joint money between DH and I that we saved up to spend on baby things.

2. Today I am thankful for my mom.  I spent Easter Sunday with her and had a better than expected time.  I have a very complex relationship with my mom and visits with her are often emotionally taxing for a variety of reasons.  But for some reason we were able to connect really well yesterday and I’m grateful for that.

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was window shop for more furniture for the baby’s room (specifically a chest of drawers and a small bookcase).  I didn’t spend anything other than what I had already bought online, but it was fun to just look and see what’s out there.  So many options!

4. I will consider this week a success if I don’t watch t.v. at all in the mornings.  I don’t typically watch t.v. at night (I’m too busy after work making dinner, prepping for the next day, hanging out with DH) so I get up an hour early to catch up on what I missed the night before.  I decided that I’m too addicted to my t.v. and I watch far too much crap.  I’d rather start my mornings off more positively with stretching, a walk around the block with my dog, meditation/quiet time, or reading a few pages of a book.  This week is a mini-experiment to see if I could make it a whole month without morning t.v.

 5. My favorite TV show growing up was probably a toss-up between the Cosby Show and Punky Brewster.

Leave a Reply

