Where's Margie's Money?



Outfitting the nursery

I’ve been window shopping and considering what type of furniture to get for the baby pretty much since I found out I was pregnant late last year.  With just over three months to go I decided it was time to bite the bullet and make a commitment to purchasing some stuff.  There are so many options when it comes to cribs and bassinets and mattresses that it’s hard to know what to buy.  On one hand, you don’t want to sacrifice quality or safety but on the other hand you don’t want to spend an arm and a leg either!

Consumer Reports (This membership is so handy right now – have to thank my dad for paying for it!) lists the IKEA Leksvik crib among the highest rated (82 pts out of 100) with marks taken off only for the assembly. . . but anyone who has bought IKEA furniture in the past knows that assembly along with the pictogram instructions can be pretty confusing – it just comes with the territory.  DH and I actually admired this crib in person a few weeks ago.  I liked it even though it’s very bare bones in terms of style and look.  I was ready to just get it (the price is SO right) but DH didn’t like the color.  It’s only offered in a wood finish and we had been planning on purchasing all white furniture for our baby girl (because the changing table we were given from friends is white – DH likes matchy matchy).

The Ikea Leksvik – $129

 Another crib I considered was the Graco Lauren Classic Crib because of look and price.  However, user reviews on Consumer Reports were on the lower side regarding craftmanship and durability of the finish.  Also CR only gave the Graco Lauren Convertible (which may be a different model but it looks EXACTLY the same) a 69 out of 100 and says it’s currently recalled.  Even if it’s a different model, I figure that there is enough similarity to be wary.  So the Graco is out.

Graco Classic Lauren Crib – $166.89

The big winner ended up being the DaVinci Emily which received a 84 out of 100 on CR (the highest rated crib was just one point more and about $600) and very good user reviews.  I like the look/style, it’s offered in white, and it converts to a toddler bed/day bed.  You can use the pieces for a headboard/footboard when the kidlet gets big enough to have her own “big girl” bed.  It sounds like the only problem might be finding a mattress to fit properly inside without too much gapping.  I ended up ordering the Sealy Soybean Foam-Core Mattress for $90 to go with it and hope it fits.  Unfortunately it appears that CR doesn’t test mattresses so I didn’t have much to go on other than what I could find online. I found out that you want to buy a firm mattress (soft mattresses have been linked to SIDS) and decided to go with the soybean foam instead of  polyurethane foam because I figured the less toxic the product the better.

DaVinci Emily 4 in 1 Crib

With the crib decision made, I started researching bassinets.  There are a TON of choices in this department and it just depends on your personal preferences.  One option was to NOT buy a bassinet and just put Baby in her crib from day one but I knew that wouldn’t be a good option for us.  Our bedroom is upstairs and padding down to her room every few hours in the middle of the night sounds like a nightmare.  Another option was to set up the crib in our bedroom for the first few months but this wasn’t going to work either – our room is tiny and there just wasn’t enough space.

The cheapest option is to go with a Moses basket which is basically just a glorified basket with padding:

The Badger Basket Moses Basket with Polka Dot Hood and Bedding – $59.99

The pros with the baskets are that it’s extremely mobile and light weight so you can bring the basket to any room without trouble.  But on the downside, it’s only appropriate for babies up to 15 lbs (about 3 months) and it sits on the floor (unless you buy a special stand for it).  I didn’t think I’d like leaning down to pick up Baby and I wouldn’t be comfortable just setting it on our dresser so I decided to keep looking.

Another option that I was drawn to was the Arm’s Reach Mini Co-Sleeper Bassinet.  I actually checked this one out in person at Babies-R-Us and liked it very much. It’s a neat idea – basically you roll it right up to the side of your bed (you connect it to your mattress with a strap I believe so there isn’t a gap between the two) and in the middle of the night when Baby needs to nurse you simply roll over and grab her and then put her back without even getting out of bed!  But, the more I thought about this, the more I worried about having her RIGHT next to me.  Now, I KNOW there is a ton of debate on co-sleeping either IN the bed or NEXT to the bed and there are pros and cons for each side.  But worried that I might in the middle of the night kick a blanket or pillow on top of her without knowing it and end up suffocating her.  It’s a horrible thought and one I just couldn’t shake.  So, I decide that MY preference is to have her in the same room but away from the bed.

Arm’s Reach Mini Co-Sleeper Bassinet – $142.95

A third option is a traditonal-style cradle.  One of my friend’s who just had a baby in early March has one of these (but it’s a family heirloom – in fact she slept in it when she was a baby – so cool!) and that made me briefly consider getting one as well.  I love the old-fashioned look of the cradle and the fact that it rocks is definitely a plus for soothing Baby when she gets fussy.  The baby weight limit is 22 pounds.

Dream on Me Rocking Cradle – $89.99

What I FINALLY decided on is this:

It’s the Gracco Pack ‘N Playard with Bassinet which costs $66.60.  While it’s not the most attractive option (the moses basket and cradle definitely beat this out in terms of looks!) I love the multi-purpose functionality have it being a bassinet and play yard that can easily pack up and travel with you – so when we go to my parents’ house or a friend’s house for a few hours (or overnight), Baby will always have a safe place to sleep and hang out.  The price was extremely good (just slightly more than the basket) and it’s safe up to 15 pounds (slightly less than the Arm’s Reach Co-Sleeper).

So, I’m very happy with my decisions and can’t wait to get them set up (which means we have a little more cleaning/organizing to do in the nursery). 

Total spent on all nursery items (plus a breathable bumper, crib skirt, and fitted sheet) was $449.26 and I’m really happy with that!

Next up on the list of things to purchase are two car seats (one for each of our cars), a small bookcase or storage unit for the nursery, and a chest of drawers – I still have 3.5 months to go so there’s still plenty of time. 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Serendipity says:

    Awe! Reading this made me want to decorate a nursery! Although, I’m way off by five years to even start trying for a baby. I am going to live vicariously through you. And cute crib!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

