Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-up

 

(Photo Credit)

Every week MPP hosts a Weekly Money Check-Up.  Here’s my update:

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was $60 for a package of five prenatal yoga classes. I try to go twice a week (Wednesday nights and Saturday mornings) and I find them to be absolutely wonderful for low-impact stretching and muscle-building. Also, I really enjoy the community aspect of attending classes with other women who are also pregnant. It’s a little pricey but very worth it.

2. Today I am thankful for health insurance. I had my monthly prenatal check up this morning and the little baby girl is doing great! I’m so blessed to have 100 percent employer-paid healthcare. I don’t pay ANY fees for my prenatal appointments. I know that so many women do not have health coverage and at a time like this (pregnant) you need to have insurance or it’s SUPER expensive!! 

On a side note, I caught a few minutes of a show (I think it was on TLC) called Pregnant and Homeless.  I couldn’t watch it and had to flip the channel.  It was so sad to see the woman and her baby daddy panhandling on the side of the road for spare change and then go into a grocery store to buy whatever they could afford to eat.  So. Awful.

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was go over to my friend M’s house for lunch (she made egg salad sandwiches) and to just hang out.  We didn’t do anything except sit in the kitchen for a few hours talking but it’s quality time like that that is truly priceless!

4. I will consider this week a success if I exercise more and drink ONLY water!  My doctor told me I gained SEVEN pounds this month.  I have to admit that I have been slacking on my nightly walks.  So, in addition to attending yoga  (just once this week since Wednesday night I’m meeting up with a friend from out-of-town) I will walk four times for an hour each.  Plus, I’m cutting out juice and Gatorade from my diet (empty calories). 

 5. This Easter I am going to spend the afternoon with my mom.  We are not a religious family and Easter has always been a “kids” holiday in my mind what with the Easter bunnies and egg hunts.  My dad and step-mom are traveling this week and with DH out of town visiting friends, I figured it’s as good a day as any to visit mom.

Leave a Reply

