Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-Up

 

Check out the newlywed My Pretty Pennies and participate in the Weekly Money Check-Up!

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was $1,097 on a new sofa sectional (it hasn’t been delivered yet but we’re super excited). But, since that’s joint money (a portion of our tax return – the rest is going into our joint savings) I’m going to say the most I personally spent out of my personal checking account was $125 to get my wedding dress and veil professionally cleaned and preserved. We got married last autumn so it was about time that I did something with my dress. I could have tried to re-sell it or given it away to a charity, but I absolutely loved my dress and I just wasn’t ready to part with it.  While I don’t hold out any crazy hope that my daughter will want to wear it at her wedding, I do look forward to the day that I can break it out and show her and relive the happy memories!

2. Today I am thankful to have a job.  Sometimes I wake up and think, ugh I don’t want to go to work!  But honestly I have it super good here and I’m lucky to be employed, earn a good salary, and have excellent benefits.  I may bitch about it on the side but when you get right down to it, I’m very thankful to work where I do.  But I am looking forward to my 12 week maternity leave  . . . even if it won’t exactly be a vacation, it’ll be nice to spend some extended time at home.

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was drink hot cocoa in the mornings!  Okay, so it’s not exactly FREE but since I bought a HUGE box in bulk, I’m only paying 11 cents a cupThat totally beats hitting up Starbucks for $2-something for a tall. 

4. I will consider this week a success if I get through Friday without making any purchases (other than the cable bill and the timeshare bill (blah) that are due this week). I need to crack down on my spending – only halfway through the month!

5. My signature accessory is . . . well, other than my wedding band/engagement ring that I wear every day, one of my most favorite accessories is a cute scarf.  My wardrobe options have become severely limited thanks to my growing tummy.  I rotate the same two pairs of work pants and three dresses at work every week (talk about boring!!).  To spice things up, I’ve gotten more playful with scarves to add pops of color and change-up the look of an outfit.

Leave a Reply

