Where's Margie's Money?



Meal Plan Monday

My first week of meal planning was a success.  My Monday and Tuesday meals created so many leftovers that I ended up not even making Thursday night’s meal as planned. Plus, it’s nice to get home at the end of the day and not have to think about what to make or what ingredients I have on hand – I just get straight to cooking!  Here’s this week’s menu:

Monday – Baked spaghetti (w/out the ground beef) with side of broccoli and bread sticks

Tuesday – Pacific Flounder with stuffing (frozen from Trader Joe’s), corn on the cob, and brown rice

Wednesday – Grilled Cheese with tomato  for me/Tuna Melt for DH with side salad

Thursday – Soy tacos with side salad

Friday – Take-out

This week I spent $64.56 (shopped at Smart & Final, Henry’s and Trader Joe’s) which isn’t much of an improvement from last week’s $77.19 (plus a couple of small side trips during the week for things we ran out of . . . milk, bananas . . .) but it’s slightly better.  Oh, I did buy a non-essential and unplanned bouquet of flowers for $3.99.  I couldn’t help myself, they were so pretty and spring-like!

I didn’t even try to use coupons this week or compare deals via the weekly flyers –  next week I’ll be more vigilant and see if it makes a difference!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Serendipity says:

    Is the pacific flunder from Trader Joes good? I haaaate seafood but Rambo loves it and I love Trader Joes so I was thinking about making it for him one night. ANd I loooove menu planning!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
    • I’m TOTALLY not a fish person either but the husband loves the stuff and since it’s the only meat he’ll eat, I buy it more often than I would otherwise. I intended to buy the Trader Joe’s frozen Mahi Mahi which is SUPER good and not fish-y at all but they weren’t stocked. So I bought the flounder instead. It’s on the menu tonight but I’m pushing it back until tomorrow so I’ll keep you posted!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

