Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check Up

Every Monday, My Pretty Pennies hosts a weekly money check-up.  Here’s mine!

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on groceries.  On Sunday I spent $77.19 at Smart and Final and Ralph’s.  This was the first time I really tried purchasing items in bulk that DH and I use a lot of – mostly stuff for our lunches like crackers, bread, jelly, granola bars, etc.  So, while this trip blew nearly 40 percent of my monthly grocery budget (and it’s only the 4th!!), a lot of this stuff I won’t have to buy again until next month . . . so I’m hoping that the next few trips to the market will be much cheaper.

2. *Today I am thankful for my husband. I know that’s super-duper cheesy but I had a really great weekend with him.  Also, I’ve been experiencing some hormonal/emotional stuff and he has been so sweet and kind to me.  He lets me cry on his shoulder (literally!) and just pets my hair and hugs me. It’s great when you can just cry and the other person doesn’t try to “fix” you, but lets you be in the moment.  I felt so good afterward – sometimes what a pregnant lady needs is a good, hard cry. . 

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free thing I did last week that made me happy was go “shopping” for furniture for the baby’s room and our living room.  We didn’t actually buy anything, but DH and I went shopping at three furniture stores, IKEA, and Target on Sunday looking and pricing out furniture for the nursery.  We also really want to buy a new living room sofa (and get rid of the hand-me-down stuff we currently have that is very uncomfortable!) so we wanted to see what we liked and get an idea of prices.  We found a sectional that is super comfy and the perfect size for us for $599.  If we still like it in a week we’ll probably go back and get it (using part of our tax return).  Delayed gratification and “sleeping on it” in action, yo!

4. I will consider this week a success if I stay away from the grocery store, keep to the menu plan, and eat all my lunches in the office.

5.  The last dream I had that I can actually recall was a few nights ago.  I was at the pool and I was holding my infant daughter on my lap with her feet near my belly and her head cupped in my hands.  She was wearing a tiny baby swimsuit and I just remember looking down at her and thinking how beautiful she is. Then I woke up and wished that she was already here!

Leave a Reply

