Where's Margie's Money?



March Spending Recap

 A look at my March budget:

Gas: 178.87 (over budget by $53.87 – likely due to the two trips to Orange County and sky rocketing price of gas)

Grocery/Drug Store: $244.62 (over budget by $44.62 – definitely saw some food go to waste this month because of poor menu planning.  Going to really focus on this aspect of the budget in April)

Dining/Eating Out: $106.77 (over budget by $56.77 – I definitely under budgeted in this category, I’m not sure what I was thinking.  Going to try to keep it to $75 in April)

Clothing: $43.46

Home and Cleaning Supplies: $14.12

Yoga Classes: $105

Movies/Music: $16.99

Gifts: $46.06

Donations: $13

Vacation/Travel: $173.91

Books: $34.93

Pet Expenses: $43

Electronics: $32.61

Misc Personal Spending: $21.70

Credit Card Debt: $303.04

So, I decided just to list the variable “extras” since things like rent, utilities, and phone I really don’t have much control over (well, I mean I do to some degree but there’s little variation in these categories from month to month).

Reflecting on my March numbers, I know that I’m going to really hit it hard when it comes to grocery shopping.  I don’t think it should be too hard to keep that number under $200 with a little more thought and planning.  For instance, I wasted about $10 this month on veggies that went bad because I didn’t cook them up in time.  I’m thinking about what kinds of dishes I can make that will last several days with inexpensive yet hearty ingredients – casseroles, one pot meals, etc. 

But, all in all, I’m proud of my March.  I did really great for my first month on a budget and I’m looking forward to continuing to learn and apply new lessons to my financial life in April.

Leave a Reply

