Where's Margie's Money?



The Seven Deadly Sins: Envy

(Photo Credit)

This is my second entry for the Seven Deadly Sins meme . . . play along!  Links to my previous post and future topics are below.

Day 2 – Envy: Seven things you lack and covet.

1. I envy people who have no debt! Seriously. Envious. Of. Them. When I think about what I could do without paying for my car, my student loans, or my credit cards I could kick myself in the butt for ever dancing with debt to begin with.  Well, I regret everything except the student loans, I guess. Those were actually worth it, but I still wish I was done paying for them!

2. I am envious of those who not only have gorgeous homes but know how to decorate them and seem to have all the time in the world to make and change out decorations with the seasons. I won’t call anyone out by name, but there are a few blogs I lurk on that have to do with decorating, crafting, and creating that make me inspired and envious all at the same time.  Inspired because these people do a wonderful job at showcasing their living spaces so beautifully that it makes me think, yeah, I can totally do that . . .  yet envious because ultimately there’s no way to make our little rental shine like that even if I did have all the time in the world.

3. I’m envious of petite women.  I mentioned before that I’m a tall girl.  Yes, I’m tall and proud but sometimes I am absolutely envious of my more petite friends who can wear sexy high-heeled shoes and still not have to worry about towering over their man. Or they can put on skirts and shorts right off the rack and not worry about showing too much leg. Sometimes I’m sick of having to shop online for jeans and pants because retailers don’t stock anything with inseams over 32 inches (Gap and Banana Republic, I’m looking at YOU). I know the grass is greener and yadda yadda but sometimes I dream of being a short girl.

4. I’m envious of people who have traveled the world. I have never been out of my own country except for a few camping trips in Baja. In fact, it’s only been in the last five years that I’ve made it over to the east coast. I can’t wait to see the world but I’ve never made traveling a priority. Traveling is going to get harder with a child, but I have big ideas for a 35th birthday trip somewhere new and exotic! 

5. I’m envious of people with large, functional and happy families (they do exist, right?). I have a very small family and I definitely wouldn’t call it functional.  My parents divorced when I was young and while my dad is the stable parental unit in my life, my mother (God bless her) is a bit of a handful to say the least. I have an older brother that, while I’m very close to, is a bit of a nut and drama king. And I have an older step-sister who I adore (so much so that I’m using her name as my daughter’s middle name) but who has always lived SO FAR AWAY (as in Germany for 8 of the last 12 years . . . you would think that would have been motivation for me to travel to Europe, right?  Um, yeah, no.)  Unfortunately, DH is completely estranged from his side of the family (for good reason but I won’t air his dirty laundry here). I was always so envious of my friends in college who went home on summer break to take vacations with their families, whose parents would visit and bring food and money and gifts, etc.  My dad is great but he has never been one to shower anyone with a lot of attention. And my mom . . . well, I just didn’t want her to visit, period!  I’m so excited to create a positive family environment for my little one but a little scared that I won’t live up to my own expectations. It will be an adventure for sure. . .

6.  I’m envious of people with advanced degrees. Now, mind you, I have absolutely no desire to go back to school for a master’s much less a doctorate because I am LAZY, but the academic snob in me would love to put a title of “Dr.” in front of my name. Sometimes the grad school life sounds appealing – no real structure except going to class, doing research and writing . . . my friend’s husband is finishing up his doctorate this year and I swear he’s always updating his Facebook status from the coffee shop. But then I remember things like, a) you don’t get paid much for going to grad school, b) you rack up a lot of loans, and c) it can get pretty stressful with little things like dissertations . . . and then I don’t get so envious anymore.

7.  I’m envious of women with great style!  I follow a number of fashion bloggers and there are some women who can pull off the craziest vintage poncho with a pair of Technicolor tights and sky-high boots and look smashing!  Meanwhile, I stand in front of my closet these days and pretty much pull out the same “uniform” day after day: pencil skirt or slacks, blouse, and cardigan if it’s a work day . . . jeans or yoga pants and a fitted tee for weekends. Sometimes I get wild and crazy and actually accessorize with a scarf or a chunky bracelet. I think if I tried a little harder I might be able to do it . . . but that would take some cash to update my wardrobe as well as some effort to think outside of my very boring box.

Have a good weekend everyone! 
 
Day 1 – Pride. Seven great things about yourself.

Day 2 – Envy. Seven things you lack and covet.

Day 3 – Wrath. Seven things that piss you off.

Day 4 – Sloth. Seven things you neglect to do.

Day 5 – Greed. Seven worldly material desires.

Day 6 – Gluttony. Seven guilty pleasures.

Day 7 – Lust. Seven love secrets.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Seven Deadly Sins: Wrath « Where's Margie's Money? pingbacked on 6 years, 3 months ago
  2. The Seven Deadly Sins: Sloth « Where's Margie's Money? pingbacked on 6 years, 2 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

