Where's Margie's Money?



Weekly Money Check-Up

(Photo credit: My Pretty Pennies)

Every Monday, My Pretty Pennies hosts a weekly money check-up.  Here’s mine!

1. The most I’ve spent this last week was on groceries (at Ralph’s) $71.37 and household/beauty supplies (like trash bags, face wash, etc. at Target) $52.32 

2. Today I feel positive  towards money although I’m wondering if my efforts to coupon clip are making much of a difference. I feel positive because with only 10 days left in the month, all my bills are paid, I’ve got a full tank of gas, a fully stocked kitchen for the week, and $269 left over in my checking account.  I shouldn’t have any problem making it to the end of the month whether or not my $1,000 work reimbursement comes through.  This week, before I went grocery shopping, I clipped coupons and actually paid attention to the grocery store sale mailers but didn’t save much – in fact I found that some products, even with coupons, are still more expensive than the generic/store brand . . . so what’s the point? 

3. Money can’t buy happiness. One free/inexpensive thing I did last week that made me happy was give myself and DH a facial with a mud mask I already had last night.  I used to apply masks weekly but haven’t done it awhile.  DH absolutely LOVES it when I put the mask on him.  We watched the series finale of Big Love (so sad it’s over!  I cried at the end!) and then washed off our masks to reveal clean, tingle-y skin. 

4. I will consider this week a success if I bring my lunch to work every day, fix dinner every night with the groceries I bought this weekend, and go to yoga twice.

5. Today I am thankful for DH.  I’m excited to have the day off with him today to go to our two prenatal appointments (one of which is the ultrasound where we hope to find out the gender of our little one) – I’m so thankful that he wouldn’t miss these appointments for the world and is so loving and kind to me! 

In other news, I’m 20 weeks pregnant today which means that it’s ALL down hill from here!  I’m so excited for our anatomy ultrasound this afternoon.  In fact, I had a number of dreams last night where I kept missing the appointment (once in my dream I was on a plane to China when it hit me that I missed the appointment – that doesn’t even make sense!) and each time work up so glad that I hadn’t – I have “first day of school” jitters.  Part of me is nervous just to find out about the health of our baby.  I want to be reassured that he/she is healthy and doesn’t have any genetic defects or problems.  Part of me is nervous to find out the gender!  This entire time I’ve been saying that I think it’s a boy but I secretly hope it might be a girl.  Either way, I’ll be grateful and happy as long as the baby is growing and healthy!

  

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I kind of forgot about Big Love last season midway through, it was kind of boring me and I always said I would catch up… but then this morning when I saw the finale had aired I couldn’t resist totally spoiling myself and reading what happened. I’m shocked!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
    • I totally agree – the season started out slow and I actually let about six episodes stack up on my DVR. Then one day there wasn’t nothing else on and I started watching again and I got sucked back in! I was totally shocked too! But I give them kudos for wrapping up all the storylines so nicely!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

