Where's Margie's Money?



Home is Where the Heart is!

 

I’m home!  My suitcase is unpacked, a load of laundry is in, and I’m hanging out with my honey . . . home truly is where the heart is.

The two-day conference in DC was definitely worth the trip. I learned a lot and definitely came away inspired with new ideas for how to do my  job more creatively and efficiently. Also, I met other people in my field from industries other than the one I am in now – so it was a great opportunity to network as well as chat/commiserate about our jobs. 

Wednesday the conference ended at noon and I hopped the afternoon train from Union Station to Williamsburg to visit Anna, her husband, and their new week-old baby. I am so glad they let me into their lives for those two days to observe and learn from them.  I don’t have a lot of experience with babies/children since I was the youngest in my family and only babysat a few times throughout jr. high and high school. When I was in my mid-twenties my roommate actually got pregnant (unmarried, with a guy she was sort of seeing that ended up being a real loser – sad and long story). I lived with her and her son for a year but I really didn’t interact with the baby much.  At that point I was more focused on my job, my boyfriend, and my life to care much about what my roommate was doing with her baby . . . and to her credit she never tried to pawn him off on me as the babysitter. 

Watching and learning from Anna as she breastfed, changed, and cared for her little one was definitely a positive experience. She shared her birth story with me and answered a lot of questions I had about going into labor and the labor experience itself.  I’ve got to admit that I’m a little freaked out about it (one word: enema!).

We didn’t leave the house the two days I was there except to visit the grocery store. I made two dinners for them, did her laundry, and cleaned the kitchen. It was definitely worth the visit!

My goal was to keep personal spending under $200.

I spent:

$110.11 on the hotel for Friday night

$25.92 on groceries for dinner number one

$22.88 on groceries for dinner number two

$7 on dinner on the train from Williamsburg to D.C. Friday night (had I been thinking in advance, I would have purchased something at the store for me to take along)

$8 on breakfast Saturday morning

$2 to tip the courtesy hotel/airport shuttle driver

$20 on the taxi fare from Union Station to my hotel in Crystal City (reflecting on this, I over-tipped – actual fare was about $12)

$30 for airport parking back home ($10/day = cheapest lot)

Total = $225.91 ($25.91 over budget)

Looking back, I could have saved on meals purchased on the train or at the airport if I had been thinking a bit more frugally.  Also, I over tipped the cab driver about $7. 

I’m really looking forward to going back to D.C. one day to really play tourist and enjoy the museums, monuments, and attractions!

On an unrelated note, I’m super excited that I got my first three blog comments!!  I was so thrilled to open up my email this morning to see the notice that I had comments waiting for moderation from: Well Heeled, Girl with the Red Balloon, and Afford Anything.  Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and post!  Yay! 

Leave a Reply

