Where's Margie's Money?



Washington D.C.

This Monday I’ll be leaving sunny Southern California for Washington D.C.  I’ll be attending a work-related conference on Tuesday and Wednesday.  Then I’ll be traveling by train to Williamsburg to visit one of my best friends, her husband, and her newborn baby girl (born this morning at 12:55 a.m.  Both mom and baby are healthy!)

Roundtrip airfare, two nights hotel, transportation and meals through Wednesday will be reimbursed to me by my work (after I return and submit my receipts).  I’ll be responsible for expenses incurred on my personal days visiting Anna, including roundtrip trainfare to Williamsburg, meals, incidentals, transportation and a one night stay in a hotel near the Reagan airport on Friday night.

Since I’m staying in Anna’s guest room for two nights and her husband is picking me up and dropping me off at the train station I’ll be saving a lot of money.  Also, since she’ll have a newborn baby, I doubt we’ll be leaving the house much.  Unlike my last visit, we won’t be visiting some of the historic sites or going shopping.  This trip is intended solely to visit, hold and cuddle the baby, help her out with some chores around the house (I’d like to make a few meals she can store in the freezer and help with laundry, cleaning, etc.), and just enjoy each other’s company since we only get to see each other a couple times a year.

I’m going to budget $50 for groceries to make meals to eat while I’m there as well as some dishes to freeze for later.

The hotel on Friday night (which I just booked this morning), cost $110 and offers free shuttle service to the airport.

For taxi fare from the train station to my hotel on Friday night I’ll budget $20 (it’s only 5 miles but I don’t know how pricy D.C. cabbies are).

I’m budgeting $20 for random trip incidentals (like a cup of coffee ir snack in the airport during a layover).

That brings my total D.C. budget to $200! I hope I’m not missing something. :-/ 

Now I just need to monitor the weather and figure out what to pack. I’m worried about how my flimsy Southern Cal wardrobe will hold up!  I’m going to have to hit up Target for some cheap gloves as well as some tights to wear under skirts or pants to keep me warm!

My only disappointment is that I won’t be able to stay long enough to actually see any of the monuments or museums in D.C.  Maybe next year!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I will be in D.C. in a few months – I’d love to read a review on your trip after you are back. Yay for PF bloggers. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

