Where's Margie's Money?



March Goals

The first day of March and spring is right around the corner!  Oh, I would love to be sitting in a field of tall green grasses hanging out with my best lady friends whilst dressed in our finest book reading/field lounging wear . . . but alas, I’m at work. 😦

Well, I started my month with a bit of a shock. I just added up my credit card debt for the first time in, well, awhile.  The figure is $6,141.82.  About $2K of that is wedding/honeymoon related and the rest is . . . well, who knows!  I’ve definitely buried my head in the sand for too long and I need to do more than just pay the minimum payments as I have been doing for the last few months. I need to get SERIOUS.  I updated the sidebar with my credit card debt and will start updating this monthly!  I’d like to see some good progress . . .

This month, I’m jumping into my goals with both feet and I’m feeling like it’s going to be a success!

March 2011 Goals:

Personal

  • Finish knitting blanket for my friend’s baby who is due, um, any second now.  I’ll visiting them next week for two days and I want to have it done so I can gift it!
  • Finish my current book (“Wuthering Heights” – I’ve NEVER read it before!) and then finish one more.  Shouldn’t be a problem since next week I’ll be doing so much traveling.
  • Navigate Washington D.C. with grace (my first trip to the city to attend a conference for work).
  • Have a great time visiting my friend in Virginia without going over budget.
  • Go on at least one date with DH.
  • Organize or fix four spaces in our apartment.
  • Donate, trash, or recycle at least 20 items in our home.
  • Send thank you notes for the two wedding gifts we just received (all other thank yous have been long sent).
  • Walk the dog at least four days a week.
  • Find out the gender of our little one!
  • Organize wedding photos and decide which ones I’ll have printed and framed (will try to work in these costs into April’s budget).

financial

  • Create a monthly budget and track spending.
  • Brown bag my lunch to work four out of five days of the week minimum.
  • Deposit $1,700 into savings for February 2011 and March 2011.
  • Attend 7 yoga classes (IF this fits into my budget) – otherwise attend five.

So, it feels great to have a little direction for the month.  I’m looking forward to making it a great one!

Leave a Reply

